Opening Day Guide 2011 — San Francisco Giants and Oakland A’s preview

31 03 2011

I told you I was working on something big. “Why haven’t you blogged in a while?” “You don’t blog enough!” “Why should I even follow you?” Yeah yeah yeah … some of us have a day job! Anyways, below you will find about six weeks worth of work condensed into four pages that will be out just in time for Opening Day 2011. We’re calling it the San Mateo Daily Journal Opening Day Guide. Click on any of the images for a much bigger, much sexier view.

The Giants Preview page is the centerpiece of it all. It runs as a double truck smack in the center of Thursday’s edition. And let me tell you, it was a lot of work, a lot of layers and a lot of fun. If you click on the image, which you should, you can see that there are a lot of elements to the infographic. When I have a little more time and aren’t exhausted, I’ll take you through the process. Let’s say for now that it started in Humanities notebook where I spent a lot of time doodling and conceiving the elements while I “pay attention” in class. Yeah, pretty bad. I’m still passing the class though! And actually, to be honest, there were changes made up until the last moments. From Brandon Belt making the team, to rearranging the bottom elements. We can go over that later.

Before I keep going, I have to send out a special shout out. As a small newspaper, we have to make good with whatever resources we have. In this case, the canvased illustration of Buster Posey was graciously donated by a guy named Ryan Fors. He’s an artist out of Minneapolis, Minnesota. While hunting online for images I wanted to use as the anchor, I can across his site (http://iwantastencil.wordpress.com) and after a couple emails, he let us use the image. Go to his site. Buy his stuff. The man is super-talented. Most importantly, thank you Ryan!

I was told I couldn’t do a Giants preview unless I did an A’s one. And that is where this page came from. The A’s have a great team this year, so it should be interesting to see how they do out of the AL West. Anyway, I wanted this page to be different, so when I was coming up with my doodles, I decided to go vertical with this page, but I wanted to keep a lot of the same elements from the double truck. Unfortunately, Ryan Fors didn’t have an Oakland A’s stencil, so I tried my best to manipulate the image to give it a canvased feel. I don’t know how successful I was, but I think the elements of the page came together nicely.

The above was supposed to be the last page in our guide, but it ended up being page one with the way the pages were laid out for us. It was a nice little curve ball at the beginning of the day. To counter it, I added the strip on top (the red one) to give it the sense of being the cover. This page came out really nice and hopefully readers will use it when to their advantage. The whole thing was written by me too, so as you can see, I made my picks for each of the MLB divisions. There is a ton of baseball to watch and play, so we can discuss those later.

Anyways, this was a lot of work, and I’m hoping everyone likes it. Needless to say though, I’m a little tired. Every time I end up making something relatively large, I always swear it’s the LAST TIME. As it turns it, it’s just too much fun. Happy Opening Day everyone … here’s to another crazy season.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

