5:55 with Chris Wondolowski — 

21 10 2011

I had a chance to talk to San Jose Earthquakes forward Chris Wondolowski following his appearance on Chronicle Live on Thursday. For those that don’t know, Wondo is in the middle of another great year and was recently awarded the MVP and Humanitarian of the Year awards by the Quakes.
I have to say, Wondo is super cool with his time and very accommodating toward us media folk. Here’s a transcript of my chat with the reigning MLS Golden Boot winner. (Picture below is courtesy of Frank Stazl, uber-PR dude for the Quakes. You can follow them on Twitter @sjearthquakes. You probably should).

Q: Tell me what it how much it meant to win the awards.
CW: It means a lot. I think this team is a good team so to get the MVP, it means a lot. It really means a lot to win the Humanitarian Award because I feel that we have such a great community throughout the Bay Area, and I love to give back as much as I can, wherever I can. It’s good to be involved in the community because there are some sincere and great people as well

Q: Does the Humanitarian Award hold more weight for you considering that this is your hometown, and not just the town of the team you play for?
CW: Oh yeah, absolutely. That’s why it means so much more. Because, like you said, I grew up in this community. I was one of them and I still feel like I am a part of this community. And I know I’ll be here even after my career is over so it’s just nice to be involved with them and to be honest, I really do believe that it is a great community and there are a lot of good people there.

Q: Wondo, the year didn’t pan out the way the team wanted. With one game left on the schedule, tell me how you feel about the season that is winding down.
CW: Yeah, you look back and it’s a bit frustrating throughout this year because we really did believe we had a very good team and we thought we should have done better. At times, we didn’t hold down leads as well as we should have and we got punished for it. And we were unlucky with some injuries that continued to pop up on us. But something that I am proud of is that it is a great group of guys and individuals, and it’s fun to be a part of this team. I commend all of them for not giving up. We fought on every game and to be honest, the last two, three months, we’ve played some of the best soccer at the end. It just happens to be too little, too late.

Q: How did you stay focused on your task as a goal-scorer with the team struggling the way that is did?
CW: It just comes down to, I’m a very competitive person; I think our whole team is. So, every game we knew it was a battle. And we challenged each other to work as hard as we can and be ready to play our next game. Even when things aren’t going as well as you’d like, we still have to go out there and work hard and get back to the basics.

Q: Last season came out of nowhere, Chris. How much does it mean to you that you could back up a season like 2010 with a 2011 that was just as good?
CW: It means a lot. It just helped reassure that I’m the player that I believe I am. It’s a good feeling. A lot of credit goes to my teammates, I think they had a lot to do with it. A lot of the goals were one-touch or two-touch goals where they gave great passes and could find me in the box.

Q: Talk a little about your goalkeeper, Jon Busch, the team’s defensive MVP.
CW: He’s meant a whole lot to the team. He’s kind of the heart of the team. He comes every game, and every day at practice and works his tail off. He’s kept us in so many games, I just feel bad that we couldn’t help him out even more because he’s done very well and sometimes the stats don’t show how well he’s played; he’s probably been one of the best goalkeepers day-in and day-out for the saves that he’s made.

Q: With the season winding down, and looking forward to 2012, does this team have the personnel in place to make a serious run at another MLS Cup?
CW: Oh absolutely. I really feel there is a great core group of guys that are going to be with this team for a while and help us go in the right direction. I do think there will be a couple of personnel changes, and I think they’ll be some good things for the team. And I think we’ll going to get some good players that will also help. So, with all that in place, I really think 2012 is going to be a great year for us.

Actions

Information

One response

21 10 2011
Vega

You are my Wondo, my Wondolowski!!

Leave a Reply

