CCS PLAYOFFS — SOCCER PREDICTIONS

21 02 2012

A couple of months ago, I made my predictions with regards to the CCS Football playoffs. And considering that I don’t remember beating myself up too much after all was said and done, I think I did fairly well. The time has come again to do so for Soccer, as we enter the CCS postseason there. Our local teams are well represented, but when you get to postseason soccer, every game is tough. It’s not like football where you can sniff out an upset. The parity in soccer is pretty consistent throughout. Here are my picks, starting with girls’ soccer.

DIVISION I

I’ve had the luxury of seeing Los Gatos play. And they’re legit. Carlmont is good and peaking at the right time. I can see them beating Los Gatos, but my instinct is with the No. 1 seed. St. Francis is ranked 19th in the state. I’m taking Woodside in a 1st round upset special.

DIVISION II

There are soccer teams, and then there’s Mitty. Or so, I’ve been told. I’ve seen a lot of Aragon soccer this season. I’m a big fan of their work. So, I think if they’re clicking, they can take Presentation and even give a team like Mitty a serious run. It won’t be easy, but the Dons have the players to do so. Believe that.

DIVISION III

I admit, I don’t know enough about D-III soccer to make a truly educated guess. So, based on what I know about who’s beaten who, I’m taking Menlo in the final but losing to Stevenson.

BOYS
DIVISION I

You’ve heard me say on July! before that I’m a BIG Jacob Pickard guy, and I think the Bears have the kind of team that can play and stand against the WCAL teams. The interesting thing here, is that I have never heard of Alisal, but apparently, THEY’RE REALLY FREAKIN’ GOOD. Good enough for a No. 3 ranking in the state. I’ve seen Serra play this year, twice. I want to see Alisal play the Padres. Watsonville has some legit wins, too. That’s why I’m taking them to reach the finals.

DIVISION II

An interesting dilemma presented itself in Division II. Mainly, I’ve seen the PAL teams in this bracket, more specifically, San Mateo. I know what they’re capable of on defense. That said, I’ve also seen Mitty. And right now, I think they’re the better team. They took care of Serra and tied St. Francis. They’re hot right now. I think Mitty vs. San Mateo will be closer than people think. But I think the Monarchs win. Hillsdale can play defense against S.I. They just don’t have the finishing quality to beat them.

DIVISION III

Burlingame is one of those teams that, just by plain misfortune, did not get to see a whole lot of. But they’re also one of the few that I will go out of my way to learn about. I’m a big Mike-Sharabi guy. I’m taking SHP in a big upset special over Santa Cruz to set-up the all local final.

MY CCS OVERVIEW IS

Actions

Information

One response

24 02 2012
CCS PLAYOFFS — BASKETBALL PREDICTIONS II « Oh My July!

[…] And while we’re on the topic of checking predictions, CCS SOCCER has prediction, too. How&#821… Well 6×4= 24 possible picks. […]

Leave a Reply

